Wednesday, January 7, 2009

The Manx Grand Prix Isle of Man D.V.M.A. Trip 2009

Terwijl het in zuidelijke Maastricht, Limburg, in de nacht van
07 januari om 04.00 uur maar liefst -20,5 windchill vroor... in het noorden de Elfstedenkoorts heerst...
Dr.Tiger Roelofski al droomt van een Daffodil Run april 2009,
his Triumphs are already waiting for it,

echte Triumph diehards er voor gaan,
maken in het midden des lands sommige
D.V.M.A.-mannen al serieuze plannen !




Organisator Patrick & John

zijn nu bezig met het plannen van,

"The event of the Year"

The Manx Grand Prix Isle of Man D.V.M.A. Trip 2009,

die eind aug - begin sept, over zo'n negen maanden dus zijn ze "uitgerekend",
"gebaard" zal gaan worden.

Neehee... dat ligt niet in de Peel en ook niet in de US


12 enthousiaste D.V.M.A.-Lidjes hebben zich

nu al voor deze spectaculaire reis opgegeven:

(Note: De inschrijving is inmiddels gesloten!)

*(onder voorbehoud > Gaarne wijzigingen doorgeven!)

1. Rob Colenbrander - Norton Model 18 500 cc 1928

2. John de Kruif - Norton Model 18 500 cc 1928

3. Patrick van der Tier - Norton Model 18 500 cc 1928

4. Hans van Gorsel - Triumph 5S 500 cc 1939

5. Ruud - Harley Davidson WLC 750 cc 1943

6. Piet Hein Copijn - AJS Springtwin Model M20 500 cc 1950

7. Cris Copijn - BMW 600 cc 1939

8. Kobus de Graaf - Triumph Speed Twin 5T 500 cc 1946

9. Motoring George Spauwen - Triumph Speed Twin 5T 500 cc 1939

10. Alex van den Breul - Matchless G3 350 cc 1940

11.Sander van den Breul - Matchless G3 350 cc 1940

12. General Alex von Schmittenhoven - Matchless G3 350 cc 1940

13. *Sjaak Bakhuizen - Norton International 350 cc 1934 *(eigen plan)


The TT (Tourist Trophy) motorcycle races have given the Isle of Man an international reputation as being the Road Racing Capital of the World.
The first TT Races were held in 1907 at St.Johns with 27 competitors racing 10 bone-shaking laps of a 15 mile circuit of public roads.

In 1911 this short circuit was replaced by the 37½ mile Mountain Course which, at that time, turned right at Cronk ny Mona and came out at the top of Bray Hill. A few years later the course changed again to follow the route which still forms the 37¾ mile circuit for today’s races.
The TT Races, then and now, are a test of endurance for both rider and machine and an opportunity for manufacturers to push to the limit the reliability and technological innovations of their latest motorcycle designs.
There are TT displays at the Manx Museum with everything from one of Joey Dunlop’s motorcycles and Mike Hailwood’s race trophies to TT badges, stickers and beermats.

The History of the Tourist Trophy

As the Isle of Man TT Races enter a second centenary, the future looks bright for one of the greatest tests of motorcycles and riders in the world.

The current strength of the festival is testament to the efforts of all those involved in the 100 years of excitement, glory, exhilaration, triumph and tragedy which have made the TT what it is today.
For two weeks of every year the eyes of the world focus on the Isle of Man – the jewel of the Irish Sea – as the finest road racers on the planet pit their skills against the 37¾ miles of public roads that form the legendary TT circuit.
The way was paved for the TT by the Isle of Man’s 1904 law allowing roads to close for the Gordon Bennett car trials. With road closure and speed limit laws preventing a much-wanted British motorcycle race on UK roads, the organiser, the Auto Cycle Club, turned to the Isle of Man and, in 1907, the TT was born.
The first races ran on the St John's course, a 15.8-mile circuit in the west, and four years later motorcycles moved to the legendary Mountain Course.
Little did the pioneers of those early years know of the legacy they were creating, an unbelievable test of strength and courage which would become as legendary as the illustrious names it would feature.
In the halcyon days when motorcycle racers were household names and the TT was the pinnacle of the international two-wheel calendar, the entry list read like a who’s who of motorcycling legends: Woods,Guthrie,Simpson,Duke,McIntyre,Surtees,Hailwood,Ubbiali, Agostini, Redman,Read.
When the TT lost its world championship status in 1977 many feared it was the end, but, instead, the event emerged as a haven for real road race specialists eager to make their mark on the Mountain Course, the most challenging and demanding circuit in the world.
The TT continued to attract, and forge, motorcycling heroes. Grant,Rutter,Hislop,Fogarty, McCallen,Jefferies and McGuinnes came to the forefront, but one name stood out - Joey Dunlop.

Undoubtedly the greatest, Joey conquered all as he scored a record-breaking 26 victories. The Ballymoney man arguably did more for the TT races than any other rider, becoming synonymous with the event and an ambassador for the TT.
Throughout its history, the TT has seen rules and regulations change. From the Twins and Singles classes of 1907, through the advent of classes for 125cc and 250cc machines to the 2005 changes that saw Superbike, Supersport and Superstock classes adopted.
Over the years records have fallen, legends have been made and tens of thousands of loyal fans have made the annual pilgrimage to the Road Racing Capital of the World – and long may it continue!


Wij gaan niet zozeer de Tourist Trophy bezoeken
maar de Manx Grand Prix

die wat later dit jaar gehouden zal worden.

No Guts...No Glory...


The race began in 1923, as a replacement if the TT Races were moved off the Island. Started by the Manx Motorcycle Club, the race was originally named the 'Amateur TT' and used the TT Mountain Course over 5 laps. Raced by non professionals, but the term 'Amateur' really meant that the rider and stock machine had no manufacture support or reward. The first race had 33 entries each playing an entry fee less then a quarter the price for the TT. The winner of the Seniors Race received a trophy donated by the Mayor of Douglas, Ald. A.B. Crookall, MHK. This trophy is still presented to the winner today. The Motor Cycle Club donated the trophy for the 350cc. Regulation changes in 1925 allowed any machine type to compete in the races. Donated the same year was the York Trophy awarded for outstanding merit. The Amateur TT was renamed to the Manx Grand Prix in 1930 and from then on it would only take competitors domiciled in the British Isles, which had not taken part in other international races. In 1967, the Manx Grand Prix became a National event, but it would not get a race of its own till 1999. The Manx Grand Prix celebrated its 75th Anniversary in 1998, and is till held every August on the Mountain Circuit.

(Bron: IomGuide)

The Grandstand


Onze 10 daagse D.V.M.A. Reis zal van 27 augustus tot 6 september duren.

Hier volgt een kort reisschema:

Heenreis naar UK:

Vertrek: 27 augustus 09 17.30u Aankomst: 28 augustus 09 09.00u
Overnachting UK
B&B of StayOK (voorheen jeugdherberg)

Heenreis UK naar Man:

Heysham> Isle of Man
Sat 29th Aug, 09 14:15 (arrive 17:45)
Overnachtingen MAN

Terugreis MAN naar UK:

Isle of Man> Heysham
Thu 3rd Sep, 09 08:45 (arrive 12:15)

B&B of StayOK

Terugreis UK naar Hollandia:

Vertrek: 4 september 09 17.00u

Aankomst: 5 september 09 09.30u

The Event of the Year 2009: Manx Grand Prix 2009 Isle of Man Prologue & Part I

Motoring George Spauwen

Sponsored by
Victrace Sitebuilding

No comments:

Post a Comment